Advocacy

What is the Advocacy Department?

The Advocacy Department of USG is charged with staying in close contact with administrators and students about issues affecting students in their area of focus. These concerns may come from the data collected by Senators, administrators, individual students or student organizations.

The members of this department include representatives from all cultural assemblies and organizations on campus who work to create solutions to problems that represent a middle ground between students, staff, faculty, and the community. They serve as the liaison between key administration and students, making sure students are aware of important changes that are taking place and creating awareness of available resources for students.  They lead university-wide committees, pursue advocacy projects, assist other USG members, the President, and the Vice President, and the Chief Diversity Officer with projects, and communicate with individual students regarding their concerns.

Advocacy Liaisons

2022-23

Asian Pacific American Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Justin Wang

Contact: zwang474@usc.edu

Black Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Taylor Clanton

Contact: tmclanto@usc.edu

Environmental Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Olivia Heffernan

Contact: oheffern@usc.edu

International Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Shashwat Singh

Contact: shashwat@usc.edu

Latinx Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Karla Mejia

Contact: mejiabon@usc.edu

Middle Eastern North African Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Eduard Ghazaryan

Contact: eghazary@usc.edu

Native American Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Kai Cayetano

Contact: kncayeta@usc.edu

Queer and Ally Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Angeles Herrera

Contact: angelesh@usc.edu

Student Assembly for Accessibility

Advocacy Liaison: Ari Martinez

Contact: jm45150@usc.edu

Student Assembly for Gender Empowerment

Advocacy Liaison: Paige Hewlett

Contact: phewlett@usc.edu

Military Associated Student Assembly

Advocacy Liaison: Elle Barker

Contact: eabarker@usc.edu

First Generation Student Union

Advocacy Liaison: Andrew Mecatl

Contact: mecatl@usc.edu

Transfer Student Assembly 

Advocacy Liaison: Antonio Okeke

Contact: okeke@usc.edu

Pacific Islander Student Association

Advocacy Liaison: Sir Cronwell 

Contact: scronwell@usc.edu

Imagine, Dreams, Access and Success

Advocacy Liaison: Kevyn Calleja

Contact: calleja@usc.edu

Keep up with our work

Join Advocacy department meetings and view agendas.